Akshay, Shahrukh, Hrithik pay less tax in FY10


Fiscal 2010 turned out to be a bad year for the tinsel town with the earnings of many a Bollywood superstar, including Akshay Kumar, Shahrukh Khan, and Hrithik Roshan, taking a plunge as reflected in their advance tax payments.

According to the data of advance tax paid by these cine stars, Akshay Kumar made a payment of only Rs 18 crore in FY10 as against Rs 31 crore for 2008-09, a fall of about 42 percent. He, however, is still the highest taxpayer.

He is followed by Aamir Khan, who is among the few like Amitabh Bachchan who bucked the trend and saw a rise in their income. Aamir paid an advance tax of Rs 12.7 crore for FY10, a rise of 13 percent from Rs 11.25 crore in 2008-09.

Rebecca Wheeler

Rebecca Wheeler

Leave a Reply